Saturday 04th December 2021,
The Black Planet

Acherontas reveal details about new album “Faustian Ethos”

Filipe Gomes 16/03/2018 News Comments Off on Acherontas reveal details about new album “Faustian Ethos”
Acherontas reveal details about new album “Faustian Ethos”

Greek occult black metallers with ritual & 70’s rock influences, Acherontas, revealed details surrounding their new studio album titled “Faustian Ethos”. The album is set to be released on May 18th in Europe and May 25th in North America via Agonia Records.

Meanwhile they released a lyric video of the first single “Sorcery And The Apeiron”:

As previously reported, the follow-up to “Amarta अमर्त” (2017) was recorded in three different studios in Greece, UK and Germany between 2016 and 2017. The mixing and mastering was done at Pentagram Studio by George Emmanuel (Rotting Christ, Lucifer’s Child). The newly-released cover artwork presented below was created by George Zafiriadis ( and the “Faustian Ethos” sigil (available at the bottom) was illustrated by VisionBlack.

Acherontas commented:

“Faustian Ethos… a sacrament of Devil’s Art and Magic. The Coven of Acherontas enters the indisputable paths of the unspeakable to transgress the Infallible traditions beyond the mundane perception. Originally crafted during the procreation of ‘Amarta’, the material of ‘Faustian Ethos’ was chosen to become a separate entity, following a different musical and ideological approach. Eight offerings to the great and everlasting Work, eight Keys to the deepest layers of the Abyss. Exploring multiple crossroads, the Coven return to the Western path, two years after the Union release with Nåstrond.

Art, religion and philosophy blend within the specter of straight-edged and razor-sharp Black Metal, devoid of ornamental elements, reaching the very core of irredeemable Black Magical, Devilish Art. The most intense, profound and apocryphal chapter of the musical/magickal “Ma-Ion” trilogy is taking form and, like a final element, completes the alchemy of this esoteric work. Rooted deeply into the substantial core of our tradition, it invokes the Faustian spirit once again, as the Sun sets into the ruins of modernity. The triangle shall be crowned with an oak wreath and the cycle shall be completed, yet for another one to begin.”


Agonia Records label manager commented:

“It’s certainly the best album recorded by Acherontas so far. It’s actually one of the best Black Metal albums I have heard in years! The spirit of 90’s is alive”.

Acherontas signed a new record deal with Agonia Records in June 2017. The band is returned to the label after their departure in 2011. They released the EP “Hermeticism” and studio album “Vamachara”, both in 2011. The latter has been recently re-released on vinyl along with a rare demo tape with a new cover made by Viktoria Polikarpova.

“Faustian Ethos”
Agonia Records ‘2018

1. Τhe Fall of the First Pillar
2. Sorcery and the Apeiron
3. Aeonic Alchemy (Act i)
4. Faustian Ethos
5. The Old Tree and the Wise Man
6. The Alchemists of the Radiant Sepulchre (Act ii)
7. Decline of the West (O Ιερεας και ο Ταφος)
8. Vita Nuova

Available for pre-order here, “Faustian Ethos” can be found in the following formats:
– Digipack CD with 16 pages booklet
– Black LP (inc. A5, 16 pages booklet and A2 poster).
– Red with black haze LP (inc. A5, 16 pages booklet and A2 poster).
– Black and gray T-Shirt.
– Zipper Hoodie.
– Digital.


About Acherontas

Facebook / Bandcamp


Text by Filipe Gomes
Managing editor: Elsa Marques



Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Comments are closed.