Wednesday 18th May 2022,
The Black Planet

BURZUM about to release new album

Filipe Gomes 05/03/2013 News Comments Off on BURZUM about to release new album
BURZUM about to release new album

«Sôl austan, Mâni vestan» will be the title of the next release by famous Norwegian Black Metal one-man band Burzum.

It is planned to be released in May 2013.
Varg Vikernes himself provided the information at

“Being a musician I have kept making music, and resently surprised my manager with a question regarding the release of a new album. He didn’t know by then that I had in fact made a new album. Unfortunately I hadn’t told anybody else either, so my label and distributors were caught off guard as well, and as it turns out they need about three months to release the next Burzum album. And they do a bit reluctantly I think, because apparently it is not a good business idea to release an album every year. Ah, well; I think that will go just fine, so around this Summer I will release a new Burzum album, with the title «Sôl austan, Mâni vestan».

«Sôl austan, Mâni vestan» will feature ≈58 minutes of instrumental electronic music, that can best be described as relaxing, slow-paced, contemplative and very much original. You have not heard anything like this before, although we can compare it to other electronic music, such as Tangerine Dream – and I guess to old electronic Burzum music as well.

Much of the scaldic music of this album is used as a soundtrack for the ForeBears film that my wife has now finished. In this film there will also be a few tracks not to be found on the next album, and that I will instead simply make available as free and downloadable tracks, or possibly as YouTube videos or something like that. They are not in the same style as the rest of the tracks on «Sôl austan, Mâni vestan» – one is even a «fairly acoustic» guitar & bass track – so they didn’t fit in, and I see no reason for me not to give some music away for free as well. I will probably be able to feed my family nevertheless, and hopefully even have money for butter and salt as well.

«Sôl austan, Mâni vestan» is, just like the other three so-called post-prison Burzum albums were, a concept album. I have still not been able to leave behind the Pagan religious-spiritual concept of a descent into darkness and the following ascend back into the light; the Pagan initiation, the elevation of man to the divine, the enlightenment of the mind, the feeding of the elven light in man. Nor have I been able to leave behind the Old Norwegian (i. e. Norse) language, although, since the album is instrumental, it is used only for track titles this time.

The track list for «Sôl austan, Mâni vestan» is as follows:

1. Sôl austan («East of the Sun»)
2. Rûnar munt þû finna («You shall find Secrets»)
3. Sôlarrâs («Sun-journey»)
4. Haugaeldr («Burial Mound Fire»)
5. Feðrahellir («Forebear-Cave»)
6. Sôlarguði («Sun-god»)
7. Ganga at sôlu («Deasil»)
8. Hîð («Bear’s Lair»)
9. Heljarmyrkr («Death’s Darkness»)
10. Mâni vestan («West of the Moon»)
11. Sôlbjörg («Sunset»)



Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Comments are closed.