Sunday 29th May 2022,
The Black Planet

SAHG releases “Memento Mori”

Elsa Marques 23/09/2016 News Comments Off on SAHG releases “Memento Mori”
SAHG releases “Memento Mori”

SAHG is a Norwegian band formed in Bergen in 2004. Their first released was the EP entitled “Godless” in 2005 that was quickly followed by the full-lengh “I” (2006). Their next full-length “II” (2008) was still released under Regain Records. After which they moved till the current day to Indie Recordings, releasing the full length “III” (2010) and “Delusions of grandeur” (2013).

As in many other bands some line-up changes occurred along their career. In 2010 they saw their original drummer Kvitrafn replaced by Thomas Lønnheim.  In 2011 King abandoned the band to prioritise other projects and Tony Vetaas took is place since he had been filling in for him on several shows. In the beginning of 2015 a major challenge for the future band occurred with the departure of Thomas Tofthagen (guitar) and Thomas Lønnheim (drums), representing a change in half of the band. Ole Walaunet with an impressive reputation as guitarist and composer in Bergen metal scene took the role as lead guitar. Mads Lilletvedt with his expressive style of drumming also joined the lineup of SAHG at this moment.

The band managed along the years to established themselves as Norway’s indisputable doom lords. “Delusions of Grandeur” marked their transition to a more progressive era, still keeping the heavy and gloomy sonorities that characterised them since the start. Three years we can say they are still evolving on the same direction and they release today (September 23rd) “Memento Mori” album. The album is released via Indie Recordings and you can check the details, opening track video and listen to all album tracks in the links below.

Check “Memento Mori” artwork and tracklist:


1. Black Unicorn (Iversen)
2. Devilspeed (Iversen/Vetaas)
3. Take It To The Grave (Iversen/Walaunet)
4. Silence The Machines (Iversen)
5. Sanctimony (Iversen/Walaunet)
6. (Praise The) Electric Sun (Iversen)
7. Travellers Of Space And Light (Iversen)
8. Blood Of Oceans (Iversen/Vetaas/Selvik)


Check the preview from upcoming album “Memento Mori”:

You can enjoy below the video for the opening track “Black Unicorn” from the upcoming album and listen in advance to the album:

SAHG current lineup is:

Olav Iversen – vocals & guitar
Tony Vetaas – bass & vocals
Ole Walaunet – lead guitar
Mads Lilletvedt – Drums

Check the official band webpages for more informations:

Text by Elsa Marques

Promo photos from official Sahg webpage




Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Adopted the role of the zine Finnish emissary, and since my addition to the roster, I have been juggling the tasks of Editor-in-chief, Promoter and Manager of the zine social media pages. As part of the permanent staff of the zine, album reviews, video and written interviews, covering live shows (text, video and photography) have been also a strong contribution to the zine work. Besides the zine "hobbies" I am also a origami, music and travel enthusiastic. Academic background: Biology degree from the University of Coimbra (Portugal); Master of Science in Cellular and Molecular Biology from the Center of Neurosciences & Faculty of Science and Technology (Portugal); PhD degree from the Medical Faculty, University of Helsinki (Finland).

Comments are closed.