Friday 14th June 2024,
The Black Planet

Terror Empire reveal new song Times of War

Filipe Gomes 21/06/2017 News Comments Off on Terror Empire reveal new song Times of War
Terror Empire reveal new song Times of War

Portuguese thrashers Terror Empire have just released a new song off the upcoming record “Obscurity Rising”.

The new Terror Empire album is set to be released on July 14th via Mosher Records, and the preorders are now live at This is the first record since “The Empire Strikes Black”, edited back in 2015. Recorded at Golden Jack Studios in Coimbra, it was also mixed and mastered by band drummer João Dourado.

Guitarist Rui Alexandre commented:

“‘Times of War’ is a perfect example of how we went straight to the point on this record and tried stuff we never did before. It blends odd-time signatures, mid-paced-to-slower sections and ends up ripping. It just feels and sounds right. Unlike the previously revealed track (“Burn the Flags”) that was full blown chaos, this one is way more like… a controlled demolition.”
As for the lyrics, vocalist Ricardo Martins said:
“We witness daily provocations and a increasing global tension perpetuated by weak leaders with a war industry to please. Dangerous power games that will culminate on a global conflict.”

Drawn by André Coelho, the cover art can be seen below. Rui spoils a bit of its meaning:
“It could be represent lots of stuff: a new moon, a snake pit, or even both – why not? It’s like a new cycle of darkness is present and we’re doomed. But I like having people interpret the meaning by themselves. We’re very happy with André’s work, he’s awesome.”
Having just shared the stage with hardcore titans Hatebreed, Terror Empire has tour dates booked for the rest of the year, including one Portugal’s biggest festivals VOA Fest in August, several dates in Portugal and a yet to be revealed run in Spain.

You can pre-order ”Obscurity Rising” here. The band can be booked via

Terror Empire Obscurity Rising

Terror Empire
“Obscurity Rising”
(Mosher Records 2017)

01. Obscurity Rising
02. You’ll Never See Us Coming
03. Burn the Flags
04. Times of War
05. Meaning In Darkness
06. Holy Greed
07. Lust
08. Death Wish
09. Feast of the Wretched
10. Soldiers of Nothing
11. New Dictators

About Terror Empire:

FacebookYoutube | Label | Booking

terror empire



Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Comments are closed.