Saturday 19th September 2020,
The Black Planet

GLOOMY GRIM – The Age of Aquarius

Detail from Gloomy Grim New Album, The Age Of Aquarius

 “The Age of Aquarius” is the new album of Gloomy Grim, arriving 8 years after the last release of the Finnish black metal band. With a new guitarist Micko Hell, Agathon (who did vocals and keyboards) and his bandmates (Lord Heikkinen– Guitar, NukklearTormentorr– Bass, and Suntio – Drums) deliver another horror tale, balanced between dark melodies, and grim heavy guitars, creating a cinematographic dark ambient blended with death metal, that distinguish the band from all the rest of the black metal spectrum.

Limited to just 500 copies, we can hear in this new work songs like “The Rise of the Great Beast”, “Germination”, “A Lady in White”, “Beyond The Hate”, “The Shameful Kiss”, “The Mist”, and the highlight of the record “Light of Lucifer Shine on Me”. Recorded at D-studio, the production made the songs soundvery alike the previous release, and at some moments we feel that we’ve hear this somewhere before. The listener can hear a lot of ideas from the previous records mixed in these new songs, combined with the fury of the thrash metal at some points. This co-release by Satanath Records with Murdher Records, will not disappoint the ones that look for something fresh and different from the usual black metal. It could be melodic at times, but the heavy parts are really heavy, although the songs itself sound a bit slow at some moments.





Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Leave A Response

%d bloggers like this: