Tuesday 16th August 2022,
The Black Planet

Helfró release music video for “Afeitrun” and reveal debut album details

Elsa Marques 13/02/2020 News Comments Off on Helfró release music video for “Afeitrun” and reveal debut album details
Helfró release music video for “Afeitrun” and reveal debut album details

Icelandic black metal band HELFRÓ are now premiering the first song of their self titled debut album, which will be released on Season of Mist Underground Activists on April 24.

HELFRÓ comments:

“We’re thrilled to present “Afeitrun”, an odyssey into the boundless and bare wastelands of cold and despair”.

The video was filmed in the beautiful, frozen landscapes of Iceland by Void Revelations. The song “Afeitrun” is streaming at the Season of Mist Youtube channel:



(Season of Mist)

1. Afeitrun (05:40)
2. Ávöxtur af rotnu tré    (04:19)
3. Eldhjarta (03:53)
4. Þrátt fyrir brennandi vilja (04:17)
5. Þegn hinna stundlegu harma (03:49)
6. Hin forboðna alsæla (04:28)
7. Katrín (05:20)
8. Musteri agans (04:50)

Total: 0:36:36

Pre-orders are available now. Order your copy HERE.


Slithering in the cauldron that is the Icelandic black metal scene, HELFRÓ emerges with fury and competence rarely seen. Written by Ragnar and arranged by Símon, a debut album has been recorded with unforgiving precision and profound musicianship. It is meant to channel the hopeless and empty feelings that have been concentrated from the frozen wastelands from which the band emerges.
Shrilling guitarwork and unforgiving blast beats weave together a soundscape that rarely leaves room for thought. It is an aural attack, seducing the listener to the barren and desolate black sands where the realization of futility and loneliness sets in heavier than anywhere else.
The band members, veterans in extreme music, have created this project as an audio representation of the endless arctic darkness, and with pride present the self titled first offering “Helfró”.

Recording line-up:
Ragnar S: Drums, Vocals
Simon Þ: Guitars, Bass, Vocals
Gísli S: Clean Vocals

Recording studio: Studio Emissary
Producer / sound engineer: Stephen Lockhart / Simon Þ.
Mixing studio and engineer: Stephen Lockhart
Mastering studio and engineer: Stephen Lockhart

About Helfró:

Ragnar S: Composition, drums, vocals.
Símon Þ: Arrangements, guitars, bass, vocals.


Managing editor: Elsa Marques



Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Adopted the role of the zine Finnish emissary, and since my addition to the roster, I have been juggling the tasks of Editor-in-chief, Promoter and Manager of the zine social media pages. As part of the permanent staff of the zine, album reviews, video and written interviews, covering live shows (text, video and photography) have been also a strong contribution to the zine work. Besides the zine "hobbies" I am also a origami, music and travel enthusiastic. Academic background: Biology degree from the University of Coimbra (Portugal); Master of Science in Cellular and Molecular Biology from the Center of Neurosciences & Faculty of Science and Technology (Portugal); PhD degree from the Medical Faculty, University of Helsinki (Finland).

Comments are closed.